About this icon's image: A 2012 photo of the entrance to the Chair's Office in the administrative section of the new Psychology Building.

Heads & Chairs of Psychology

Note: Starting with Joe Grosslight in the mid-1960s, the Department's top administrative position has been appointed as a Chair.

Edwin A. Hayden (1915 -1921)

The Hayden Years Excerpt from Psychology In the Beginning 1902-1930,
by Michael E. Rashotte (June, 2003)

Paul F. Finner (1922 - 1948)

The Finner Years Excerpt from Psychology In the Beginning 1902-1930,
by Michael E. Rashotte (June, 2003)

Hugh L. Waskom (1948 - 1965)

The Waskom Years by Michael E. Rashotte (2012)

1965 - 1966: Howard D. Baker, Acting Chair
Howard Baker was appointed Acting Chair by Arts & Sciences Dean Larry Chalmers while the Department conducted a national search for a new Chair after Hugh Waskom stepped down.

Joseph H. Grosslight (1966 - 1986)

The Grosslight Years by Dan Kenshalo and Barron Scarborough (1989)

1972 - 1973: Barron B. Scarborough, Acting Chair
Barron Scarborough became Acting Chair for a year while Joe Grosslight headed FSU's London Study Program in England. Barron was Associate Chair in previous and subsequent years during Grosslight's tenure.

Michael E. Rashotte (1986 - 1989)

Psychology 1986 - 1989 by Michael E. Rashotte (June, 2003)

George E. Weaver (1989 - 1995)

Psychology 1989 - 1995 by George E. Weaver (September, 2002)

Robert J. Contreras (1995 - 2002)

Janet A. Kistner (2002 - 2012)

2012 - 2013: Ellen S. Berler, Interim Chair
Ellen Berler was appointed Interim Chair by Arts & Sciences Dean Sam Huckaba to allow the Department's Bylaws-specified procedures for electing a new Chair to proceed after Janet Kistner moved to the position of Associate Vice-President for Academic Affairs in the Office of the Provost.

Dr. Berler's Retirement Ceremony

Jeanette Taylor (2013 - 2019)


MAIN: (850) 644-2040 · FAX: (850) 644-7739 · PSYNET · myFSU · HELP

Comments to: webmaster@psy.fsu.edu    DESKTOP VERSION